Go Back to handibot.com

Advanced

6061 Aluminum with 1/8" End Mill

Posted by TableSyrup 
6061 Aluminum with 1/8" End Mill
December 07, 2015 09:54PM
Ok, I'm a total noob.

I'm seeing a lot of conflicting info on Speed/Feed. Presuming this is differing info, as different machines and tooling will handle differently.

Here's where I'm at. I've got my parts designed. I've tested the program with wood. Came out great.

I'm ready to change out to 6061 aluminum (5/8" plate)

SO.... I am trying to identify how to set this up on the Handibot (Dewalt)

So... with a 1/8" End Mill, what do I want for my RPM (And how do the Dewalt #'s relate to RPM?), what Depth, and what Feed?

I'm seeing people talking about doing 50% the diameter of the mill, in depth. But then I'm also seeing people talking about taking a thousandth.

So.... where to start?

No idea. Totally lost here. I could stay on the conservative side and take only a thousandth, but it would be nice if it didn't take all day to run one part winking smiley

Thanks for any help. I'd like to be running aluminum tomorrow smiling smiley
Re: 6061 Aluminum with 1/8" End Mill
December 08, 2015 12:04AM
With a 1/8" 4 flute square tip end mill, at 10 thousandths cut, #5 on the Dewalt, .1 IPS feed, I'm plugging mills

So... uh......

Anyone willing to provide some input???

6061 Aluminum.... gotta get through 5/8" stock.

Do I need to just take something like .001 per pass? Something like that? At what feed speed and RPM range?

I'm lost here. Contradicting info everywhere I read up. Feed & Speed calculators and guides vary, and they all seem like they would calculate taking more material faster than this thing can handle.

I could really use a hand. I'm sure I'm going about this all wrong.
December 08, 2015 04:58PM