Go Back to handibot.com

Advanced

x,y alignment issue

Posted by Silvia 
x,y alignment issue
November 09, 2016 08:58AM
Dear all,

I am new to the handibot. I managed to cut the example file, draw my own designs in v-carve, and mill the designs on mdf and plywood. But I can not get the cutting done EXACTLY at the x,y location I want them to be at.

If I rerun the same file again on the same piece of wood (just to see if the second time the x,y alignment is still the same) the y-axis is off by a centimeter of more (0.5 ").

Here's what I did: set z axis to 0 by moving the spindle down until it touches the material, press the x,y zeroing button next to the jogging window button, run the file for the first time, when the file finishes I simply rerun the file, without any recalibrations.
Should this work? Or does this fail when the file ends 'unexpectedly', e.g. when I only run the first toolpath from teh file, and not all toolpaths?

Best regards,
Silvia
Re: x,y alignment issue
November 09, 2016 09:55AM
Silvia,

The position of the cut should definitely be repeatable--stopping in the middle of a cut should have no effect on the home position of the tool...so something definitely isn't working correctly.

First, which generation of handibot are you using? Is it the new Version 2.0 with the wifi "FabMo" controller or the earlier version with the ShopBot 3 control software?