Go Back to handibot.com

Advanced

How to use Large Area Indexing Accessory kit?

Posted by stevempotter 
CNC newbie here. I have been waiting for a package from Handibot with the
Indexing jig for doing larger projects, so I have not used my Handibot yet.
The jig came with no instructions and I can't find any on the Handibot Docs page.
The only videos I found using it were more promos than instructional.
Can those who have experience using it please post some instructions and advice here?
What is the best way to mount it?
Does it attach to the material being carved or to the workbench?
Does it wear out and if so, how to reduce that?
How to get the best accuracy?
How to use it with the laser sight?
How to set up a job for indexing?
How to optimize workflow or minimize moving the Handibot?

Any help and instruction is appreciated. Assume I know nothing winking smiley
Thanks!
-Steve
Re: How to use Large Area Indexing Accessory kit?
August 02, 2016 09:50AM
I am relatively new to Handibot, but I'm pretty familiar with the software side of things.

Short version:
Find the Vectric Videos on Tool path Tiling. Read everything you can on the subject. Instead of using a reference mark and dowels, you clamp the index jig to the material and use it to index the CNC machine. If you understand the tiling feature, then how you use the Jig should become pretty clear.

Long Version:
The simplest way to use the jig is to clamp it right to the surface of the material you want to cut and use the tiling feature in the software. If you want to learn more – start by looking up Vectric’s Tiling tool paths. If you are completely new to CNC and aren’t familiar with the Vectric software – I would start with their basic videos. The tiling can get a little confusing. You want to run 6” wide by 8” tall tiles.