Go Back to handibot.com

Advanced

got a handibot used and can't set the z axis

Posted by cuervo 
got a handibot used and can't set the z axis
June 01, 2018 03:29PM
I am new to the cnc world after finding a handibot on craigslist. I am told it is a V2 but I can't see any markings on it anywhere to determine which one it is? I tried to get started and just set the z-axis setting. I followed the instructions, with the alligator clip but it just drove the bit down into and past the point it should and started bending the tab its supposed to barely touch. I am not sure I set up the software right as it went right into which model it was and that was the first question.
That is definitely a V2 handibot!

Let's check the z-zeroing circuit first--if you look at the digital position readout (on the right in the fabmo interface) you'll see a series of inputs and outputs laid out under the tool position.
Input number 1 is the circuit for the z zero mechanism. If you tap the copper clip on the z zero plate, you should see input # 1 light up. Is that what is happening when you touch the clip to the plate?

Also--if you could let me know which software version you're on. You can find the software version in the upper right hand corner of the configurations screen. I'd like to get you up to the latest version in the software--settings are easier to change in more recent versions.
Thanks for your response.

Yes input #1 does light up when I tap the clip to the plate. Software version says its V 1.6
Ah--there is a setting in the configuration menu called "tool profile" on the top right of the page. Check that it is set to "Handibot 2" if it is already set to that--change it to something else and set it back to "Handibot 2" this will reload the routines for homing the tool. If you PM your address I can send you a new Z Zero plate!
ah, that did the trick. It was set to default Thanks for all your help, I will pm my address as you requested. Thanks again so very much.