Go Back to handibot.com

Advanced

shopbot vs handibot whats best for a newbie to CNC

Posted by WallyS 
as i mentioned in the shopbot forum im a CNC beginner looking for my first CNC to learn/have fun with.
Currently I'm trying to decide between the shopbot desktop or the handibot because thats around what my budget is.

In my CNC newbie opinion right now it looks like the handibot is the better machine, considering it can be moved to the materials and you can use the indexing jig to do bigger surfaces
I don't see why the desktop is worth more money, but the fact that it is the more expensive option makes me wonder if there are benefits that I'm not aware of

is someone able to give me the pros and cons of each so I can better make decision(like is their speed differences ? Or things one can do that the other can't etc.)

also with the handibot I'm curious about the new controller board mentioned in the "new guts" topic
when will those start being put into the handibot? or are they already (I'm just the kind of person that would go crazy not waiting an extra month or so when something gets updated)

I'm also curious about the fourth and fifth axis addons Will they work with all models of handibot or only ones with the new guts? and is there a estimated release date and/or price for those add ons

my final question is should i be wary about the handibot being a developer edition?, Do you get anything extra because it's a dev edition or is it just the title for it because all the features aren't nailed down yet.
Would you recommend a person who doesn't plan on developing apps to hold off on it because it's a developer edition?

thanks
Hi Wally,

I'm sure there will be other opinions on this ... but I'll just jump in with a few thoughts.

Despite a similarity in mechanical elements and motors, the Desktop and Handibot are very different tools.