Go Back to handibot.com

Advanced

Cut doesn't match preview - What am i doing wrong??

Posted by Lussier517 
graphic designer and now CNC newbie here. 12 hours with the handibot.

when i go to cut my file it shows up like the attached picture.

the first pocket pass is right, but after that the cuts derail all over the place.

is my error in the Vcarve setup or when i take it to the shopbot control software?

can anyone shed light on what i'm doing wrong?

i'm attaching the shopbot file.
Attachments:
open | download - circle portal cut.jpg (207.3 KB)
open | download - circle portal 3.sbp (129.6 KB)
It appears that you are making a circle outside the 6" limit for x. I get similar results when the machine hits the limits of the device. It automatically rattles a bit and then resets (0,0,0) so the next set of cuts are off center from the original cuts. Your code has numbers greater than 6 in both the x and y. Just my thoughts.

Best wishes. Tim
On my phone right now so I can't look at the file but Tim is correct, if you exceed the cut area you have to set up tiles to do them.
thanks for the help Mark & Tim.

in Vcarve, i made the "widget" 6" but placed it on on a 7" "Job Size".
(i was assuming that i would need a larger piece of material to cut the max 6" "widget") (like an bleed edge in printing)

i have two clarifying follow up questions:

1. the "Job Dimension"/ "Job Size" material in VCARVE should never exceed 6"x8" unless i plan on tiling?

2. can i actually cut to the 6X8 final size or should i always make my widget slightly smaller than the 6"x8" "Job Size"? (To avoid having to tile the widget)
well...i started from scratch. (importing the vector PDF from corel draw into a brand new project file.)

i set the project size at 6"x6" per your advice.

photo attached to see what happen...

went to cut and the first pass was the small circles.

the second pass was the indented weird-shaped pockets.